C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

LT1 Randomly fails, spark, not fuel

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2010, 09:17 AM
maranello_man
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LT1 Randomly fails, spark, not fuel

All,

I am new to the Corvette Forum and am stumped by this problem. Here's what happens:

Car drives for about 10 minutes from a cold start then dies randomly.

Conditions During Failure that I have Verified
  • Fuel is present
  • Spark is NOT present (spark indicator test light)
  • Tach goes away completely upon failure (drops well below zero). Even if the vehicle is still going 55MPH when the failure happens and I don't push in the clutch, the tach completely drops out. The engine is still turning over, the key is still on. I still have an oil pressure reading which drops with speed, which I would expect. This may be a clue to the problem.
  • Car turns back on, once I have waited for a while (5-20 minutes)
  • Car is more likely to fail when weather is warm
  • Measuring spark timing signal from PCM (Powertrain control module) to ICM (ignition coil module) measures about 2VAC (as expected based on the service manual) when running or cranking (when engine is operating correctly), measuring this signal while cranking after engine has died is 0V.
  • The above led me to conclude that the signal from the PCM was going away and it was a bad PCM. I soldered a wire to the output pin in the PCM and remeasured the VAC to the ICM while driving to make sure it wasn't a connection problem from the PCM. This measured 2VAC while cranking and running, and 0VAC while cranking after the car had failed.
  • Based on the above, I replaced the PCM (ouch), but this did not solve the problem. (grrrr)
  • I concluded that something about the ICM was making this signal that I was measuring go away so I replaced the ICM (ouch again), but this did not solve the problem either. (grrrr again)