C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

1985 replace fuel pump.. no crank no start >:(

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-2010, 08:34 PM
thornton310
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default 1985 replace fuel pump.. no crank no start >:(

Fellow corvette enthsiasts
I have a problem with my corvette, my daughters boyfriend is a mechanic and helps a lot with my car, here is some info from him any help would be great. Thanks

i am a certified Ford technician .
have been working on vehicles for about 4 years
have solved extreme wiring concerns on fords and other vehicles but this is just melting my mind every day i cant pinpoint this concern soo.... here it goes...

1985 corvette automatic transmission
has a viper remote start alarm system installed
and thats about it.. everything else is just cosmetic.. mostly interior work.

he was having an intermittent long crank start then stall..
after cycling the key from off to on a few times you would hear the fuel pump turn on and then the vehicle would run fine start fine.

so i suggested for me to replace his fuel pump.
he bought the fuel pump.. and i was SUPPOSED to install it but when i call him to let him know i was on my way to replace it .. he told me that he had done it himself.

but came up with a new concern.

the car does not crank.. fuel pump does not turn on.

relays click in the dashboard, battery voltage is good. i am getting battery voltage to the hot wire at the starter... i read that the starter uses a case ground.

fuel pump harness side connector voltage..
3 wire..
black-ground
green-key on fuel pump ressure
green/orange?-key in start fuel pump pressure (colors are faded cant really tell what color it is)

good ground
good voltage key on
good voltage key in start.

only problem is i do not no the "description and operation" of the starting system and fuel delivery.

although my grounds and voltages are good.