C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

1989 vette stumbles under load

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2011, 05:12 PM
usagie99
Navigator

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1989 vette stumbles under load

Hey all, I'm new to the world of vettes and also new here on this forum. so a couple of days ago my brother brought me a stock '89 vette w/ a 6-speed manual to work on that seems to have some rather interesting acceleration issues. we drove around in it for a few minutes so he could show me the problem. whenever he would accelerate from a low rpm the engine would accelerate until ~2200rpm, and from then on it would stumble and finally reach at most ~3250rpm. if he punched the gas to the floor would not accelerate at all and it would act like it was at idle. when we pulled into a parking lot he revved the engine and it smoothly went up to near redline without missing at all.

First we did a general tune up that consisted of replacing the sparkplugs, wires, distributor cap and rotor and fuel pump, and then set the timing. The car idled smoother but it stumbled just the same as before. Next I replaced the injectors with accel 30lb/hr injectors. after installing those the car idled even better but the stumbling is still there. after a bit of reading i checked the error codes and got a code 22,33 and 42. I'm guessing the 42 was from setting the timing and the 22 and 33 from unplugging the tps and maf to see if either of those made a difference(neither did make a difference in the end). after resetting the ecu and running the car in park until it went into closed loop mode, the car still exibits the same hesitation and lack of power.

at this point i have no idea what to try next. any suggestions? i would love to get this car back to my brother in a drivable state, and any input would be greatly appriciated.
thanks,

christian G
Old 06-11-2011, 05:49 PM
Pete K
Race Director

Received 15 Likes on 15 Posts