C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

1990 Engine Swap

Search this Thread

Old 12-18-2014, 01:31 AM
C4ProjectCar
Drifting

Received 45 Likes on 35 Posts
Default 1990 Engine Swap

I bought someone's abandoned project, a 383 stroker, and I plan to put it in my 1990 6-speed C4. It's my first time pulling and replacing an engine, so I'm probably going to need lots of help.

To start off, does anyone have any general tips for the project? Anything I should check for on the new engine? Things I need to replace?
Old 12-18-2014, 01:34 AM
C4ProjectCar
Drifting

Here's my first problem:

I need to pull the heads so I can measure the deck clearance, but I already ran into a snag. I pulled the valve covers, got a socket, but found that the socket won't fit over some of the head bolts (Actually, it appears to have nuts and studs instead of bolts). Several of the studs are close enough to the valve springs that a spring gets in the way of the socket. Even if I remove the spring, I'm not sure it will fit. Here are pictures of the offending studs:

Old 12-18-2014, 06:33 AM
hcbph
Safety Car

Received 526 Likes on 476 Posts

Default Spring clearances

It's been years (and I do mean years) since I've seen anything like that. It was a friend building a racing engine with a number of modified parts and he had clearance issues after getting all the machine parts put in. What he did (I was just observing) was use some smaller diameter springs from the hardware store to hold the valves closed so he could mount the heads. Once he had the heads on then using an air chuck, spring compressor etc he swapped out the temporary springs for the real ones on the engine.

Did it work - yes, was it a pain to do - yes. It worked out for him so hopefully something comparable may work for you.

Good luck.
Old 12-18-2014, 07:36 AM
trackbird
Racer

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts