C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

1993 - Engine won't stop!

Search this Thread

Old 08-25-2016, 01:01 AM
kumowoon1025
Cruising

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1993 - Engine won't stop!

Hi everyone, newbie here,

I just got a 1993 convertible, it's a fixer upper.

First problem I'm tackling is the engine not stopping when I turn the ignition off. It looks like it's almost going to stop, the lights dim, and the tach needle drops a bit, but it goes right back on again.

I was trying to check if the alternator diode was shot (do car alternators have diodes in them??) by running the engine with the alternator disconnected, but it won't start? I was really confused by this. I should be able to start the engine without the alternator, right??

Is there any way to test the alternator diode theory? Should I add a diode to the positive connection outside the alternator? If so, what ratings do I need on the diode?

Thanks in advance,
Ted
Old 08-25-2016, 01:29 AM
SELLC
Instructor

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts

Originally Posted by kumowoon1025
Hi everyone, newbie here,

I just got a 1993 convertible, it's a fixer upper.

First problem I'm tackling is the engine not stopping when I turn the ignition off. It looks like it's almost going to stop, the lights dim, and the tach needle drops a bit, but it goes right back on again.

I was trying to check if the alternator diode was shot (do car alternators have diodes in them??) by running the engine with the alternator disconnected, but it won't start? I was really confused by this. I should be able to start the engine without the alternator, right??

Is there any way to test the alternator diode theory? Should I add a diode to the positive connection outside the alternator? If so, what ratings do I need on the diode?

Thanks in advance,
Ted