C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

Battery Died

Search this Thread

Old 11-16-2002, 05:57 PM
mothersworry
Pro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Battery Died

The battery finally died. Is the ac delco battery the best for the C4 or is a gel battery better?
Old 11-16-2002, 06:00 PM
bogus
Team Owner

Received 33 Likes on 31 Posts

Default Re: Battery Died (mothersworry)

I have been hearing that the Optima's are very good... but I have no experience with them.

I installed an Exide... and that was over a year ago... no probs...
Old 11-16-2002, 06:38 PM
CowboyNVette
Le Mans Master

Default Re: Battery Died (bogus)

The AC Delco is a really good battery but as far as best..I dunno. YOu will here arguments for the Optima battery ( gell type ) and some others but if you were happy with the AC Delco then get another one. I didn't have a choice when mine died since I was on a weekend trip and it was @ 10 pm at night. I had to find the nearest all night WalMart to find a battery and all they had was the WalMart elcheapo.... :lol: Well that was about 2 years ago and its still going strong....Guess I better knock on wood or the thing will be dead in the morning :smash: :smash: :smash: :lol:
Old 11-16-2002, 10:44 PM
Touringpro
Racer

A gel cell is vastly better than a standard AC Delco (or any other) conventional lead-acid battery. Whether it's better than the AGM (glass mat) AC Delco Platinum Professional is debatable. The advantages of either are many: they won't leak, spill, or freeze; can be installed in any position, are vibration proof, and generally last at least twice as long. The drawback is price - usually triple digits.

Personally, I use Optima Red Tops - $103 at the local Costco - www.optimabatteries.com in the C3 and Tundra, and Odyssey's in the 2 Harley's www.odysseyfactory.com
Old 11-16-2002, 10:59 PM
PeteL
Le Mans Master