C4 ZR-1 Discussion General ZR-1 Corvette Discussion, LT5 Corvette Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Suspension Setup for Street or Track

Rear Gear Ratio

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-2011, 01:09 PM
dan1495
Burning Brakes

Received 263 Likes on 184 Posts
2016 C3 of Year Finalist

Default Rear Gear Ratio

I'm still new to the ZR1 world and trying to figure out a few things about my '90. The car is turning about 1750 RPM at 60 MPH in 6th gear and about 2000 at 70. This leads me to believe it does not have the 3.45 rear gear. I did check the speedo with my GPS and it was dead on. Does this sound like 4.10's?

Thanks.

Last edited by dan1495; 12-03-2011 at 01:24 PM. Reason: tYPO
Old 12-03-2011, 01:33 PM
Paul Workman
Le Mans Master

Received 500 Likes on 395 Posts

Originally Posted by dan1495
I'm still new to the ZR1 world and trying to figure out a few things about my '90. THE car is turning about 1750 RPM at 60 MPH in 6th gear and about 2000 at 70. This leads me to believe it does not have the 3.45 rear gear. I did check the speedo with my GPS and it was dead on. Does this sound like 4.10's?

Thanks.
With 4.10s you'll top out at 90 mph in third gear. With 3.45s you'll get to 120 mph.

Your speedo might be correct, but it is common for the printed resistor on a ceramic substrate to deteriorate over time, resulting in the tach reading high. (Mine reads almost 20% high. Sorta freaks some passengers out when I don't shift before the tach passes 8000!)

There was a thread on this a year or so ago, complete with pictures, etc, as to what needs to be done, along with some resistance values, depending on MY.

If you can't find it (the info) get back and I'll dig it up for ya. (I seem to recall putting the info in a "safe place" where I wouldn't loose it...You know the rest)

If you have a scanner, you can compare the actual reading from that ALDL connector to the tach. Then you'll have an idea of what the real reading is.