Notices
C5 General General C5 Corvette and C5 Z06 Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Where To Get Manual Transmission Fluid Changed?

Search this Thread

Old 02-11-2012, 02:11 AM
McLendon95
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Where To Get Manual Transmission Fluid Changed?

Okay guys, I'm new at this, don't laugh at me....
I'm not really into doing these things by myself, so I don't really want to hear, "Oh, just do it yourself, it'll be easy!", I'd rather just spend the money, and get it done right, than screw it up doing it myself

But my question is where do I go to get my transmission fluid changed correctly, where I won't get screwed over on price? Chevy? EZLube? Those are the only two places that come to mind, and I'd rather not take it to the latter, because they screw everything up anyway. How much should it cost, and what kind of fluid do I have them put in?

Also, what is the difference between manual transmission fluid, and rear end grease? Thats always been a question of mine too... And will changing it/them make a significant different in the way changing gears will feel?

I know this is like 10 questions, but thanks in advance for all of your input! Without you guys, I would be lost.
Old 02-11-2012, 02:24 AM
baxsom
Le Mans Master

Received 196 Likes on 116 Posts

If you are adamant on having someone else do this simple of a task you absolutely must find a vette mechanic near you. This is one of the easier maintenance tasks even more so than spark plugs. There is no such thing as rear end grease. It is gear oil 75w90 with an additive for the limited slip clutch packs. our manual vettes dont use "manual transmission fluid" either. the manual vettes use ATF.
Old 02-11-2012, 05:27 AM
Dave68
Race Director

Received 78 Likes on 50 Posts

Any competent garage can do it but you may find that the dealership price is reasonable (Yes, this can be the case.)
Old 02-11-2012, 08:17 AM
Jay_Rich
Racer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post