C6 Tech/Performance LS2, LS3, LS7, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Turning at low speed noise

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-2016, 01:54 PM
needdlex
Racer

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Turning at low speed noise

Hey guys,

I'm not an expert, but I think I can explain this well enough to give accurate information.

I can hear/feel a very faint noise coming from what I think is the front wheel area while turning left and right. I only feel it at low speeds and while moving (forward or backwards). I can sit idle and turn the wheel and I don't feel or hear anything, it's as smooth as glass.

There isn't any play in the steering when I am driving the car, it is very tight and responsive. I don't feel any slop at any time. The lug nuts are tight, I don't feel any play in the tie rod ends, and I can't hear anything "crackling" like a loose ball joint.

When I am backing out of my driveway, I turn the wheel and I get the feeling that the car is hesitating or that the wheels are turned to sharply. I don't see a drop in RPMs, it's just a very faint feeling that I didn't have with my C5. It idles really low when rolling out of the driveway, so it might just be the fact that it's trying to move the car with rpms.

My car is under warranty, but the dealership is over an hour away. I don't have a problem getting it looked at, but I want to say, "You need to look at replacing the lower ball joints, or the sway bar is causing a bind"... I imagine that they get plenty of "noisy thing in the front" descriptions, and I'd like to save myself some time.

Thanks in advance.
Old 12-01-2016, 02:24 PM
EVRose
Race Director

Received 772 Likes on 612 Posts