Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Driving to event on Hoosiers A6?

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2007, 05:16 PM
mountainbiker2
Melting Slicks

Received 37 Likes on 33 Posts

Default Driving to event on Hoosiers A6?

I've been driving on Kumho V710's to all my race events. 60-80 miles one way. Not a single problem in 4 years. Do you think Hoosiers can handle it? I don't own a trailer, care about my paint, etc. Only care about performance at the track. These will be used for autocross.

thanks,
Steve
Old 11-09-2007, 05:23 PM
Jason
Team Owner

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
CI 4-5-6-7 Veteran

I have no first hand experience, but since people are running them at track events and road races, I'd think they'd be ok.
Old 11-09-2007, 06:03 PM
the blur
Melting Slicks

Received 119 Likes on 87 Posts

I recently put 100 street miles on my A6's.
It was fine, until I got caught in the rain

Then the fun began, I had to get off the hiway, and make my way home via the side streets. The side streets were fine up until 30 mph, but the hiway at 40+ was slippery. The car was sliding all over..
Old 11-09-2007, 09:24 PM
Aggie #5
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Drive to the track

I have driven 130 miles one way on A6s to an event. One thing to keep in mind is they go away quick on the track so leave some for the trip back. The drive to the track is not the issue it is the track time.
Old 11-09-2007, 10:31 PM
Z06 Whisperer
Racer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post