Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

is my beginning budget too much small?

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2012, 07:03 AM
rithsleeper
Drifting

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Default is my beginning budget too much small?

Been hpde and autoxing my 89 vette for some time and really want to take the plunge to getting my license this summer. Im a teacher in sc and young so i only make about 33k a year but im music so i teach on the side and have saved every penny this past year.

I have (or will have by end of may) 8k to work with.... however i keep coming up short (i just need to get my license not compete this year, i can live with that)

Basics are this:
4000 for a prepped rx7 to my door (have a few on a line)
800 for a trailer to haul
500 for my safety apparel (like the lemons package)
700 for my scca doubles licencing weekend
300 prepping my truck to haul
1000 for misc unforseen expenses

I have infinate time during the summer, i have a huge garage and tons of tools, and im very knowledgable for the most part, do everything myself.

Am i out in left field or in the ballpark? I really dont want to save for another year. The alternative would be upgrading power plant on my 89 and licensing next year. But i would be pissed to put it off. I have to have a car to do the tests. Heck i went all winter with no heat to save money it would kill me to not see a payoff.
Old 03-30-2012, 07:31 AM
AU N EGL
Team Owner

Received 25 Likes on 25 Posts

W2W racing? Plus dont you need to do at least 4 races a year to keep your regional lic ?

figure a $1200-$1500 per race weekend in just expenses and this is on a huge budget.

for the car:

rotors, pads, new fluids, and fuel this is with scrubb tires.

Travel fuel for truck

Lodging and food