Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Talking to people who think they're great drivers

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-2012, 01:03 AM
VegasJen
CFOT Attention Whore

Support Corvetteforum!

Received 79 Likes on 32 Posts

Default Talking to people who think they're great drivers

I'm sure most of those of us who drive on track have come to the realization that we may be good, but we're just not "that" good. Before my first track day I used to think I was a good driver, a fast driver. Then I took my car to an auto-x, later progressing to track days. My humility went up as my experience increased. I now know I'm a better driver than the average knuckledragger because I've had exposure to people faster than me, I've learned by being taken to school.
In the last few weeks I've had several conversations with people about driving. Whenever I mention that I drive track events, and even instruct for a group that puts on track days, it always leads to something like this:
Guy who thinks he's fast, "yeah, I rode with this guy in his Porsche/Ferrari/Corvette and he couldn't believe how fast I was. 'I didn't know my car would do that'. Blah, blah, blah". Or, "yeah, I took this guy out for a ride and he said I should be a professional driver blah, blah, blah".
Granted, I haven't ridden with these people and for all I know they could be the next Senna. But odds are they aren't. It just seems to me any time the subject comes up it somehow turns into a "who's d**k is bigger" contest. Granted, I mention that I instruct, and that is a fact. But it's not something I bring up just to brag that I'm an instructor. The group uses instructors more for safety and basic car control than anything else. It's not Bondurant or anything, just a group that likes to go out on the weekends and bomb around the track for fun.