Paint/Body Corvette Materials, Techniques, and How To

81 Front and rear bumper

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-2013, 03:36 PM
Tim81
Burning Brakes

Received 27 Likes on 25 Posts

Default 81 Front and rear bumper

What are the front and rear bumpers made out of on a 81 Vette and what is the best way to strip them? Thanks Tim
Old 09-22-2013, 05:34 PM
DUB
Race Director

Received 2,713 Likes on 2,321 Posts

Originally Posted by Tim81
What are the front and rear bumpers made out of on a 81 Vette and what is the best way to strip them? Thanks Tim
FACTORY bumpers are made out of urethane. And stripping them is a touchy process so you do not destroy them.... or allow solvents to get in and on them.

FOR WHAT THIS IS WORTH TO YOU:

I have found that sometimes having them media blasted...NOT SODA BLASTED....will work well but it is still very labor intensive. I do this stuff for a living and do it for people so my end result has to be able to be warrantied and last. SO I can not afford to do it half-a$$ed and not pay the price later when something goes wrong and fails.

I prefer NOT to mess with them because ...as I stated...I do this for people and my time, effort and materials costs can often times exceed the cost of new bumpers. This is contingent on the condition of the original bumpers and the issues they may have. New bumpers would require much less time to prep for re-painting....but have there own separate issues also....depending on if they are urethane or rigid fiberglass.

DUB
Old 09-22-2013, 06:51 PM
Tim81
Burning Brakes

Received 27 Likes on 25 Posts

Originally Posted by DUB
FACTORY bumpers are made out of urethane. And stripping them is a touchy process so you do not destroy them.... or allow solvents to get in and on them.

FOR WHAT THIS IS WORTH TO YOU: