Paint/Body Corvette Materials, Techniques, and How To

In need of adult supervision for quarter panel repair on a 92

Search this Thread

Old 02-11-2015, 11:36 PM
syco_cop
Pro

Received 26 Likes on 19 Posts

Default In need of adult supervision for quarter panel repair on a 92

Decided to bite off more then I can chew with two car builds at once, and now I'm crying for help.

The problem is I'm a bit confused with the chemical selections for smc repair. From what I read from the guy that obviously knows more than everyone else highly recommends using West Systems Resin over and above everything else. Being its geared towards marine use is a positive in my book, but nowhere on the manufactures sight it specifically says it's compatible with smc; Evercoat does. And being evercoat makes fillers and bonding adhesive that specifically state that they're compatible with smc is a huge plus for me being that I'm a rookie.

So my questions are:

I really want to use the West Systems mainly because of the various options in hardeners and I haven't read anything negative about it. Can I mix products? For example can I use west for the actual repair of the fiberglass and use evercoat products for the fillers and adhesives?

If I can mix products, what evercoat products should I use? I was thinking of using fibertech as a filler and use to repair the halo.

Can use glazing compounds? Was thinking poly flex.

What should I use for a panel prep/cleaner?

And finally do I need to use an etching primer as if it were bare metal?
Or can I go straight to the high build primer?

Anyways below are pics of the damage. Replacing the quarters... Thanks for any input. Pics below.

Old 02-11-2015, 11:39 PM
syco_cop
Pro

Forgot to mention the new/used quarters I got from a forum member came with the piece that has a chunk missing from it. So was planing using glued in tabs to splice in a new chuck and use cloth on the top side of the seam. Why I was asking about compatibility. Mucho Gracias!