Paint/Body Corvette Materials, Techniques, and How To

Stripping my '77 with a razor, need some advice

Search this Thread

Old 09-06-2015, 09:48 PM
rgwoehr
Burning Brakes

Received 604 Likes on 295 Posts
Default Stripping my '77 with a razor, need some advice

I guess I should start by saying that this is my first attempt at doing anything auto body related. My '77 has several layers of paint on it and I'm trying to strip it using the razor blade/heat gun method. I've been holding the heat gun about 2" from the surface and moving it around a 6"x6" area for about a minute before I try to scrape it, and this works ok but the paint still comes off in small pieces. There are still some stubborn areas where I can't get the blade under the paint, and heating it for longer periods of time doesn't seem to make it any easier (this is pretty much only an issue with the black paint on the bottom half of the car).

I expected it to be a little quicker/easier than this after seeing other threads about stripping the paint with a razor blade (I've spent between 5 and 6 hours just on the fender in the photo below). A couple people have told me to sand it down with a DA sander, but I'm hesitant to try that because I feel like it would be really easy to damage the body with one of those. I also read about stripping with chemicals but we're in a drought in my area and I would probably be burned at the stake if I was caught using water to rinse the paint stripper off, so I'm trying to avoid that method if possible.

I guess my questions are:

1. Is there an issue with the way I'm doing this that's making it difficult to remove the paint, or is this just the way it's gonna be with this car?

2. Slightly off topic, but I scraped some bondo of the top of the fender and found some gouges in the glass that are pretty deep. Can these be filled with Vette panel adhesive, or do I need to grind it down and repair it with fiberglass mat and resin?

Old 09-07-2015, 09:38 AM
porchdog
Drifting