Paint/Body Corvette Materials, Techniques, and How To

Painting my hood and need serious help?

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2017, 11:51 PM
Danny.reamer
Instructor

Received 15 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Painting my hood and need serious help?

So I started painting my hood today and didn't get quite finished. I got the primer and base coat down an the sides but I am painting the center a different color. So I started laryngitis down my tape and noticed the paint was coming up a little when trying to adjust the tape so of course I stopped. I got all the tape off without any problems. So my problem is the weather is supposed to turn to crap overnight so what am p supposed to do? Tomorrow the high will be rainy and 60* but then Sunday it's supposed to be clear but only in the 50s. I read I need to have it cleared within 24 hours to get proper adhesion. What do I do?
Old 03-11-2017, 05:24 PM
DUB
Race Director

Received 2,713 Likes on 2,321 Posts

This is where you either take a chance by applying tape on fresh basecoat....and have it lift due to the adhesion of the tape you are using....OR....you shoot the car at the end of the day and allow the base to dry over night but YET still in your 24 hour window. So...when you come in the next morning...and apply tape...the tape is less likely to lift the base coat paint that is drier. Keep in mind...that the colder it is BELOW ambient air temperature (70-85 degrees) the longer the paint can take to dry.

Also....the worst weather condition for basecoat is for it to be allowed to stay OPEN...thus no clear on it...and allow it to get moisture in it. SO...really humid conditions or rain can effect it on a microscopic adhesion level. The basecoat CAN absorb this moisture. I do sometimes allow the basecoat to stay OPEN....but I am doing it when I know my weather is somewhat consistent and watch the weather...and IF I get caught by freak rainstorm, etc. I use my infra red heaters to heat up the basecoat before I go to the next step.