C6 Tech/Performance LS2, LS3, LS7, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

C6 Intake Design

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2016, 02:33 PM
ST10
Navigator

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default C6 Intake Design

I was looking to add horsepower to my 08 Coupe. I see that the Z06 has a scoop at the front of the hood to draw ambient air into the engine. Why in the world did the manufacturer not do that for all C6?

By drawing in ambient air, you get a better air/fuel mixture for combustion than hot air underneath the hood. This makes for a better burn in the engine. I am a mechanical engineer and knows all too well about thermodynamics.

So the simplest modification I can do to the car is to install a CAI system. Looks like the Vararam is the best choice except the material may be "flimsy". As for all the stuff about water getting into the scoop, that is almost impossible unless you submerge the intake into water and the water level get as high as the hood. It would take a pump to pump any significant water into the engine otherwise (static pressure from air intake is not that strong). The static pressure from the air being pull is not strong enough to pull any significant water into the engine.

The Vararam has a vortex design which helps increase the air static pressure. This only occurs when the car is moving and air is being "force" into the intake. The vortex design increase the static pressure gain and therefore "add" static pressure for combustion. But all that is negligible compare to "fresh" air for combustion. That is where the real gain occurs. Better burning means more HP!
Old 07-23-2016, 08:59 PM
CMY SIX
Safety Car

Received 104 Likes on 92 Posts

your an engineer and you don't see how GM has separated the intake from the hot engine compartment
Old 07-23-2016, 11:49 PM
long_tall_texan
Pro

Received 41 Likes on 22 Posts

Default C6 Intake Design