C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

84 wandering/floating steering

Search this Thread

Old 02-25-2017, 11:26 AM
JimG73
Cruising

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 84 wandering/floating steering

hello, new member here.

I picked up an 84 with ok mileage recently. I love the car and it's in great shape for the year. It does have the loose steering column which is going to be addressed this coming week. What concerns me more is that the steering tends to wander at any speed over 30-40 mph. It almost feels like it's floating around with a mind of its own. While I'm a newbie to vettes, I don't think the loose column would contribute to this. I know there are things in all cars that contribute to this but my question is Is this a common issue/part failure in the C4 and if so, what's the fix? Any and all input is appreciated.

Thanks,
Jim

Last edited by JimG73; 02-25-2017 at 11:29 AM. Reason: Too fast on the trigger
Old 02-25-2017, 01:05 PM
ex-x-fire
Drifting

Received 191 Likes on 150 Posts

Check the front end parts & steering shaft carefully. The jack needs to be under the lower control arms to check the ball joints.
If that all checks out then have an alignment done, the 84s had a stock caster spec of 3 degrees. The 87s have a spec of 6 degrees. The front ends are the same between these years & the early cars track better with that later spec.
Old 02-25-2017, 01:11 PM
JimG73
Cruising

Thank you for the advice. Will do.
Old 02-25-2017, 09:29 PM
C4+3=/=C7
Instructor

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

IIRC, there are spacers (stacked washers) on the front upper control arms. '84 and '85 cars have more spacing rearward while '86+ cars have more in the front to allow for the greater positive caster angle. Switching them and realigning with the later spec is free high speed stability (Firestone wouldn't do it for me and the next place aligned the car wrong, but that's another story)

Possibly helpful