Notices
Ask Tadge Archived: Corvette's Chief Engineer Tadge Juechter answers questions from the CorvetteForum community.

When will Android Auto/Apple CarPlay come to the C7? Will they be brought to '14/'15?

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2015, 02:37 PM
Rockmaninoff
Advanced

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default When will Android Auto/Apple CarPlay come to the C7? Will they be brought to '14/'15?

Hi Tadge, thanks very much for doing this.

I'm an Android developer (4 years running now) and the promise of Android Auto and Apple CarPlay is very appealing to technology enthusiasts. I know that one goal for the C7 was to market to a younger crowd, who generally align well with cutting-edge technology.

What are the plans to have Android Auto and Apple CarPlay brought to the C7? Chevrolet is a member of the Open Automotive Alliance and is also listed as a CarPlay partner, so I expect these platforms will appear in future models of the Corvette. When would we expect to see them in action?

More importantly, will they be brought to the '14 and '15 through software updates? If not, what are the blockers there? The C7 has some incredible technology in it and seems to be ready to go with a large touch screen and ample USB ports. When companies like Tesla are pushing out over-the-air updates to their cars that change both the performance and in-car experience, I'd like to think that Chevrolet can provide that as well.

I think we can all agree that the level of technology in our pockets is at a level we've never seen before, and outpaces the apps we have in our cars week by week. It would be a real bummer if, in 5 or 6 years, I was still using the navigation system in the car, possibly having to pay hundreds of dollars to upgrade the maps, when I could just as easily be using the device I have in my pocket for a more relevant experience.

Thanks again!
Old 04-14-2015, 08:43 PM
FYREANT
I'm Batman..
Pro Mechanic
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 908 Likes on 561 Posts