Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

NASA Events/HPDEs

Search this Thread

Old 10-10-2008, 11:33 AM
1Day
Drifting

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default NASA Events/HPDEs

Are these events safe enough or does one have to definitely get insurance when going to these events? After reading some posts, it seems to be mentioned how aggressive people drive in these events.

Is it mandatory to get insurance?

Have there been any incidences(major or minor)? How does it work, if someone else crashes into you and both of you dont have insurance, they just walk away and the repairs are left to you?

Thanks
Old 10-10-2008, 02:16 PM
beerkat
Pro
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I have been doing DEs with NASA and other clubs for about 6 years. The fact is that unless you buy special insurance you are probable are not cover. So most people do not risk what they can not afford to walk away from. You run at your own risk.

In that time in DEs I have not seen one car hit another one. People have hit walls, blown engines, broken hoses. all kinds of things that break on a car have broken on track. Someone dropping oil on the track could make multiple cars wreck. Stuff like that is very rare.

Yes some driver are more aggressive than other but that is true in all things that are competitive.

If you have never done a track day you do not know what you are missing. I feel that driving on track is safer than I285 during rush hour.
You will know with the first session you do if you are going to like it or not. Most get hooked and become track junkies and feed their habit as much as their pocket book will let them.

Go to an event hear you. You can find someone who will give you a ride if you ask nicely.
Old 10-10-2008, 02:30 PM
argonaut
Burning Brakes

Received 46 Likes on 36 Posts