Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Video Camera recommendations???

Search this Thread

Old 11-01-2014, 09:03 PM
Charley Hoyt
Safety Car

Received 36 Likes on 33 Posts

Default Video Camera recommendations???

I have been using a Contour + for A few years and now it needs some replacement parts that are no longer available. ...so it is time to get a new camera. What are you using, and how do you like it? I am thinking about a Smarty cam because it will integrate with my Aim dash. My only concern is the video quality doesn't seem that good. I am also considering a go pro 4.

Any input is appreciated
Old 11-01-2014, 10:34 PM
BOTTLE FEDvette
Pro

Received 18 Likes on 18 Posts

sony action cam here and love it.

Old 11-02-2014, 10:47 AM
bdanyluk
Drifting

Received 39 Likes on 31 Posts

Go pro Original Hero here at 1080p....If i bought one today, I'd get the new Go Pro with 4K resolution...super clear!

Old 11-02-2014, 10:51 AM
naschmitz
Burning Brakes

Received 17 Likes on 15 Posts

Default Vio POV HD

I run two of these Vio POV HDs at 720p 60fps. (https://vio-pov.com/pov-hd)

With an accessory you can wire them directly to 12V and never have to charge batteries. RF remote starts and stops both cameras simultaneously. Global shutter -- no jelly vision. External mic inputs. Easy to mount camera heads. Viewfinder so you know what you are shooting without guessing.

GoPros keep getting better and have many of these features too. But they are also getting pricey.

Plenty of examples here: www.youtube.com/bertschmitz

Last edited by naschmitz; 11-02-2014 at 10:54 AM. Reason: Added link to cameras
Old 11-03-2014, 12:08 PM
Charley Hoyt
Safety Car

Great input...Thanks.

Has anyone tried the Smartycan GP HD?

Charley
Old 11-03-2014, 12:48 PM
dhowdy
Racer

Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts

Originally Posted by BOTTLE FEDvette