Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Proper heat cycling for new tires

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2015, 03:09 PM
KCblues
Instructor

Received 26 Likes on 15 Posts
Default Proper heat cycling for new tires

I'm new to autocross this year, running a 2004 Z06 in AS.

I'm having a new set of Bridgestone RE71R mounted next week and neglected to have TR heat cycle them for me before shipping.

There's a test and tune at Lincoln next weekend that I'm signed up for.

How many runs and/or what temperature should I get these tires to for the first heat cycle? I do have access to a tire pyrometer..

I understand they should be left alone for 24 hours after the first heat cycle.
Old 08-14-2015, 04:12 PM
63Corvette
Le Mans Master

Received 283 Likes on 199 Posts

Bring them up to operating temperature gently. Do not heat shock them. After one session of slowly coming up to speed (not over it, and no sliding or locking of brakes) let them sit for 24 hours if possible, or at least overnight.
Old 08-14-2015, 05:41 PM
skxf430
Burning Brakes

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Are you towing your car to the track? Or, is this a street car and you drive to the event. If your car is street driven, you have already heat cycled the tires from the time you drove it from the tire shop to your house.
Old 08-14-2015, 06:20 PM
KCblues
Instructor

Originally Posted by skxf430
Are you towing your car to the track? Or, is this a street car and you drive to the event. If your car is street driven, you have already heat cycled the tires from the time you drove it from the tire shop to your house.
It'll be driven home on an August afternoon in Kansas.

Is there some target temperature I should be shooting for?

Last edited by KCblues; 08-15-2015 at 08:57 AM.
Old 08-15-2015, 03:42 PM
63Corvette
Le Mans Master

Received 283 Likes on 199 Posts