Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Dedicated track car question

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-2016, 11:13 AM
wenger828
Heel & Toe

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dedicated track car question

Vette noob here... I own an auto repair shop and want to get into HPDE/road racing. Have the opportunity to purchase a 97 C5 for a decent price, already has racing seats, harness bar, LG GT2 coil overs. It's a "track beater", exterior isn't in that great but no structural issues.

I want to know, is this a good base car to get into the sport with? I have to stop taking my daily driver ('12 GT500) to the track! Are the FRC's more desirable for road racing? Should I skip this and look for a z06?

Just want some input before I pull the trigger! Thanks!
Old 04-28-2016, 11:17 AM
johnny c
Drifting

Received 37 Likes on 13 Posts

any corvette is a great way to start. miata's are too :P

on the C5's many of the early cars came with batwing pans. they perform great to reduce oil starvation. get yourself some race pads, an acusump and enjoy it.
Old 04-28-2016, 11:21 AM
johnny c
Drifting

post a picture of the "race seat" i'm interested as to that it is and how it's installed.
Old 04-28-2016, 11:23 AM
brkntrxn
Drifting

Received 51 Likes on 42 Posts

With the rule changes of recent years in NASA, the C5Z06 no longer has an advantage over the coupes. In fact, the base coupes actually have a better coefficient of drag figure.

Buy it if it is worth the negotiated price.
Old 04-28-2016, 11:32 AM
wenger828
Heel & Toe

Thanks for input, I was thinking about the Miata too but honestly, I need something with a little more power, especially coming from a 644rwhp Shelby haha. I will post up a picture of the chairs he has installed
Originally Posted by Johnny C @ OG
any corvette is a great way to start. miata's are too :P