Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Z51 to Z06 What to expect on the Track

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2016, 10:06 PM
NT4HIM
Instructor

Received 14 Likes on 10 Posts
Default Z51 to Z06 What to expect on the Track

I recently traded my 2014 Z51 for a 2016 Z06/Z07. It was an unplanned purchase, and my spouse has forbid me to ever go inside a Chevy showroom again, lol. As the title states, I'm interested in what's in store for me when I take it out next month, so I can be as prepared as possible. For some background, I am an intermediate level HPDE driver with most of my experience at TWS: 1:55-1:58 lap times in my Z51 with scrubs. I will be doing a modest track alignment with the track prep, but everything will remain stock at this time, including the Cup 2 tires and CCBs.

I am most interested in the handling characteristics between the two cars, especially with the different PTM modes. I have a good understanding of the different PTM modes and what each mode is doing. I really wanted to love this feature that I paid extra to get on my Z51, but after months of frustration with the car's handling, I finally gave up and turned everything off. I begin to enjoy driving the car after that. My times also begin to improve drastically.

So, should I expect the same frustration with the PTM in the Z06, or is the extra horsepower enough to compensate for the under-steer the PTM produced in the Z51? The new car is a Z07, so the tune and suspension might offset some of that as well? I'll admit I have great reservation about turning everything off in the Z06, especially after reading some of the threads about snap over-steer, although most of them seem to be related to the rear caster issues.

Last edited by NT4HIM; 09-09-2016 at 10:33 PM.
Old 09-11-2016, 10:26 AM
MUKAK
Race Director

Received 34 Likes on 34 Posts