Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

NASA NE ST-2 (Re-)Build Thread

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2018, 12:57 PM
Hi Volts Z06
Burning Brakes

Received 53 Likes on 47 Posts
Default NASA NE ST-2 (Re-)Build Thread

After 7 years of fierce competition and more second place finishes than I'd like to admit, it's time to rebuild the NASA NE ST-2 #38 car that I've been campaigning since 2011 in the Northeast Region. Over those years the car has survived three major crashes, a clutch explosion and two engine fires along with the general wear and tear that any race car experiences.

While myself and my team did a fairly good job of prep, maintenance and repairs over the years, we lacked the support of a well seasoned race shop to achieve the setup and reliability needed to stay competitive and most importantly- finish a full season.

After my latest fiasco (blown engine and resulting fire at Lime Rock this past August), I've decided to hand the car over to Adrian and his team at F.A.S.T Auto in Maspeth, NY and perform a complete rebuild. To give you an idea of what we are undertaking, I've included a picture of the car from the 2016 NASA East Coast Nationals at Watkins Glen. I'll add that the only parts that will be on the new build will be the transmission (a T-6060 Transzilla in a T-56 case) and diff (an OZ Giken with 3.91 gears) which all have low hours. We are reusing the frame rails and firewall but just about everything else will be new.
Old 01-01-2018, 01:11 PM
Hi Volts Z06
Burning Brakes