Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

scca track night

Search this Thread

Old 04-04-2018, 07:57 PM
Basil2000
Drifting

Received 963 Likes on 498 Posts

Default scca track night

anyone have any experience attending any of these events? i have a c7z that i have been tracking for a few years. i have 2 teenage boys that race mountain bikes every weekend and its hard for me to break away for a weekend HPDE. in a few years they will be away to college and my weekends will be free to go from track to track. these events appeal to me because they are during the week and inexpensive. allowing me to still get my track fix. are these events safe and would you recommend?
Old 04-04-2018, 08:22 PM
duk007
Instructor

Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts

Originally Posted by Basil2000
anyone have any experience attending any of these events? i have a c7z that i have been tracking for a few years. i have 2 teenage boys that race mountain bikes every weekend and its hard for me to break away for a weekend HPDE. in a few years they will be away to college and my weekends will be free to go from track to track. these events appeal to me because they are during the week and inexpensive. allowing me to still get my track fix. are these events safe and would you recommend?
I think it depends on who is running the event. The SCCA people that run my home track Pitt Race, are great. The event is well run and we rarely have issues of any kind. Sometimes there are guys that are running in the wrong class, or think that since they have a fast car that they should be in the advanced group, but it’s pretty rare . It’s a laid back and fun $150 track time. I’ve got some friends out on the track because of these events that would not have otherwise gone to a PDE. It’s a great intro to track days as well as a cheap track time for veterans.