Autocrossing & Roadracing Suspension Setup for Track Corvettes, Camber/Caster Adjustments, R-Compound Tires, Race Slicks, Tips on Driving Technique, Events, Results
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Carbotech n00b Inquiry

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2019, 09:34 AM
SlothX311
Pro

Received 103 Likes on 76 Posts
Default Carbotech n00b Inquiry

Car is a Manual 13 GS on Pilot Sport 4S, factory pads/rotors.

I'm looking to pickup a dedicated track pad/rotor setup for light duty track days. I say light duty because I fully acknowledge my inexperience driving this platform hard, have zero seat time in a RWD on a track, zero seat time with a manual on a track. I will be more of a limitation than the pads for sure. I have some track experience but it was in a paddle shift, FWD car with much less power and overkill brakes.

That out of the way, I want something that will not fade but also has a good balance of "rotor friendliness". Dust, noise, street temps, not a factor as I will be trailering the car to event and swapping back to street pads/rotors after the event. I see Carbotech is the pad commonly recommended, but I have a few questions:
  1. XP8, XP10, XP12, XP24... whats the difference here in real world terms? Car isn't crazy powerful and I can't see myself really doing anything north of 140 MPH on the tracks in my region.
  2. Carbotech the way to go?
  3. What rotors do you guys pair with your track pads?
  4. I'm on the OE drilled rotors, no cracking yet but I also haven't tracked it. Should I be looking at slotted?
  5. Do I need to upgrade the OE lines to steel?
Thanks in advance guys, really value the input from the community.

Last edited by SlothX311; 03-15-2019 at 11:02 AM. Reason: Added current tire and brake info.
Old 03-15-2019, 09:47 AM
dclafleur
Le Mans Master

Received 34 Likes on 31 Posts

What tires are you running?
Old 03-15-2019, 09:49 AM
SlothX311
Pro

Originally Posted by dclafleur
What tires are you running?