C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

Verifying a 63 fuelie car

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2007, 10:57 AM
63vettezo6
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Verifying a 63 fuelie car

I was reading a post about how to tell if a 57 was a fuelie or not and what i was wondering...Is there a way to verify that a 63 is a real fuelie or not? Just wondering. Thanks
Old 01-30-2007, 11:12 AM
fuelie65
Instructor

I did some research on my 65 to verify...I am not an expert but one easy thing to look for is to check the inner fender wells where the side flags would go on a non fuelie and see if they were filled in at one point in its life. If "std" flags were originally on the car, not the fuel injection script that would be an easy tell-tale.

Also in 65 there is a purple wire for the injection unit that originates in the wiring harness...not sure if it's the same for 63

You can also look at the radiator core support, although it could have been changed at one time, look for obvious indications it may have been swapped out...
Old 01-30-2007, 11:21 AM
vintagecorvette
Melting Slicks

Received 19 Likes on 13 Posts

Originally Posted by fuelie65
I did some research on my 65 to verify...I am not an expert but one easy thing to look for is to check the inner fender wells where the side flags would go on a non fuelie and see if they were filled in at one point in its life. If "std" flags were originally on the car, not the fuel injection script that would be an easy tell-tale.

Also in 65 there is a purple wire for the injection unit that originates in the wiring harness...not sure if it's the same for 63

You can also look at the radiator core support, although it could have been changed at one time, look for obvious indications it may have been swapped out...