C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

Sidepipes and muffler? Will it fit??

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-2007, 09:00 PM
Kensmith
Le Mans Master
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Sidepipes and muffler? Will it fit??

I have the 3" OD sidepipes and have been looking at ways to get the loud chambered sound to quiet a little. I am a big fan of Magnaflow as I had their mufflers on my 32 Coupe and they sounded awesome. I am not good at posting pics but did find some round Magnaflows 4" OD 2 1/2" Pipe (inlet and outlet). Not sure if I can get a 4" round Muffler to fit between the stock shielding and frame. But it sure would be nice if it would fit. Anyone try to get a Muffler on a stock sidepipe C2? I have a photo of the muffler if you want to see the actual dimensions.
Old 09-25-2007, 11:02 AM
MasterDave

Received 49 Likes on 40 Posts

4" will simply not fit. I don't think it would fit even if you removed the heat shielding.
Old 09-26-2007, 08:26 PM
Chambered
Le Mans Master

Received 138 Likes on 84 Posts

Originally Posted by MasterDave
4" will simply not fit. I don't think it would fit even if you removed the heat shielding.
Will 3.5" OD bodies fit? Check this link: http://www.classicchambered.com/pic/Special_40.jpg
Old 09-26-2007, 10:57 PM
mid-year crisis
Racer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Well. they look neat, and, ya gotta love those shoes...
seriously..anybody know about or try them??
Old 09-27-2007, 07:39 AM
Five Window
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by mid-year crisis
Well. they look neat, and, ya gotta love those shoes...
seriously..anybody know about or try them??
I have a pair of his 3" od 2.25" id mufflers. I should have them on the car within a week. His construction is perfect and really heavy duty. The difference in internal diameter between his 2.25 and stock is amazing.