C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

Buying a car with a lein

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-2008, 09:49 PM
70vert
Banned Scam/Spammer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Buying a car with a lein

Well, you can't have enough corvettes, right? I'm wanting to purchase a '96 grand sport (no flaming please). I will be paying cash. The problem is I am in Arkansas, seller is in OK (1.5 hr drive), title is being held at a bank in CA. The amount owed is less than the selling price. I've never bought a car with a lein let alone one with the title being held so far away. How do I do this without relying on trust? I would like to do the transaction this weekend, what are the chances that's going to happen?
Old 01-09-2008, 10:06 PM
1-2-b-67L89
Melting Slicks

Received 67 Likes on 43 Posts

I'm no lawyer but would think you would want to talk to a loan officer of the bank, maybe a three way with the seller. But for sure I would be calling my lawyer just to check on how to proceed and what to or not to do.
Good luck even though the car is, ah different
Old 01-09-2008, 10:08 PM
firstgear
Le Mans Master
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 640 Likes on 358 Posts
2019 Corvette of the Year Winner
St. Jude Donor '15

you ought to be able to contact the seller and the sellers bank and work out the logisitics of getting the title. I would think for your protection that you need to pay the bank and have the seller release the bank to send the title to you. You could deal with the bank via wire transfer.

The seller would get the balance of the cash, taking that with you. You would give the cash and leave with the car.

If I couldn't get the seller to work with me on something like this with the bank, I would probably pass.

Might take a little bit longer than this weekend to get it ironed out.

good luck....Herb
Old 01-09-2008, 10:09 PM
Mike Terry
Le Mans Master

Received 270 Likes on 202 Posts