C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

Looking for '58 Silver Blue Convertible Top

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2018, 05:15 PM
kahibbi
Intermediate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Looking for '58 Silver Blue Convertible Top

I recently picked up a very nice Silver Blue '58. It has the hardtop with the car, but the only signs of a convertible top were the anchors on the rear deck lid. There was absolutely nothing under the convertible deck lid (e.g. - empty tub).

I reached out to several vendors asking for a complete convertible top, including the blue fabric soft top. Though all have not replied, I have had a couple of responses that blue tops were not original equipment.

I'll admit, I'm new to anything C1. But I thought I saw that there was a blue top offered with the Silver Blue and Inca Silver color combination. I have seen restorations that have the blue top, and I assumed the tops were restored/recovered with replacement soft top.

So my quest is to purchase a complete soft top that just needs to be bolted in ... or whatever you'd call it.

Does anyone have any guidance or insight where to turn for help? Thanks in advance.
Old 02-13-2018, 05:25 PM
vettebuyer6369
Administrator

Location: About 1100 miles from where I call home. Blue lives matter.
Received 5,331 Likes on 2,775 Posts

The blue top on the '58 silver blue cars with the blue-grey interior is one of the best combos ever on C1s for me. I was lusting for that combo when I bought my '58.

I think your best route would probably be to find a nice used complete convertible top frame in good usable condition, from the various parts sources, or at a swap meet. I believe trying to buy the frame complete with the top color you want may be making the search unreasonably difficult.