C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

Starter solenoid fusible link blown

Search this Thread

Old 04-16-2019, 12:37 PM
67vette123
Navigator

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Starter solenoid fusible link blown

While putting in a new battery for 67 327 non Ac vette i tapped the positive and neg ends of the battery with my wrench, connection was a split second so i thought nothing of it. Go to later with battery installed, i flip the battery cutoff switch and instantly the fusible link coming off the neg end of the starter solenoid blew. The wiring diagrams say it is a 16 gage wire so 20 gage fusible link to replace? I am a newbie to all of this and electrical is definitely not my field, is there any way that i shorted something else out and it will reoccur until the short is found or is it possible that replacing the fusible link will be the only step required to fix the problem? Car has absolutely no power to anything and no attempt to crank, no click. Any reply would be fantastic.

Last edited by 67vette123; 04-16-2019 at 12:43 PM. Reason: Add pics
Old 04-16-2019, 12:45 PM
MelWff
Race Director

Received 1,817 Likes on 1,606 Posts

The battery cutoff switch was in the OFF position when you touched the two terminals with the wrench?
If so the car should have been isolated from the accidental connection between the posts. That leads me to suspect something else caused the link to blow.
Old 04-16-2019, 12:47 PM
67vette123
Navigator

Originally Posted by MelWff
The battery cutoff switch was in the OFF position when you touched the two terminals with the wrench?
If so the car should have been isolated from the accidental connection between the posts. That leads me to suspect something else caused the link to blow.