C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

Newbe 2x4 Carb Questions

Search this Thread

Old 04-16-2019, 11:20 PM
61Toy
Cruising

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbe 2x4 Carb Questions

New to the Forum, 1st Post

I'm in the process of remotoring my '61. The car has been in the family sense '76 when my dad brought it home in boxes. The car had been raced and then torn apart to be restored but never made it past that point when he bought it. My dad rebuilt the car as a driver, I'd call it a good 5'er, not a show car. The motor he put in it was built correct and dressed up right but not "vette" numbers. The car sat more than ran before he gave it to me (ya I know, GREAT DAD) 12ish years ago. My dad had a mechanic go through the car before he gave it to me and he messed it up. Wouldn't hot start, didn't tighten the front wheel bearings, list goes on. So it sat for 10 years and freeze cracked the block in three spots in the lifter valley. There is no feeling like draining the oil to get your car back on the road and seeing green.

OK enough of the back story.

Through a friend I found a 283/270 that had been polled out of a '61. Bought the motor and T10 trans as a unit last fall. Now that the weather is is improving to the point I can work in the garage again I'm trying to install this beast. While trying to install the new linkage I found the carbs don't look like the pictures on the instructions.Doing as much research as I could, mostly here, I think the rear carb is wrong. I believe the rear carb is a 1x4. I was of coarse told the motor ran when taken out but the car was in worst shape than mine when bought. Even if I can jerry rig the linkage and the motor runs right the difference in height between the two carbs, around a 1/4", means the air cleaner wont seal.