C1 & C2 Corvettes General C1 Corvette & C2 Corvette Discussion, Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Project Builds, Restorations

[C2] Another choke question

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-2021, 05:42 PM
C2search
Instructor

Received 45 Likes on 31 Posts
Default Another choke question

I’m a novice when it comes to carburetors but I want to try and solve this myself if I can.
1964 327 300hp AFB 3721SB carb

I’ve read a bunch of related threads on the forum but still don’t quite “get it”.
In these pictures the engine is cold. I shot a video but I’m not sure if it will upload successfully. In the video I have the accelerator linkage fully open while turning the choke cover back and forth. Nothing seems to happen.

Can anyone tell me what I can do to get the choke operational? Like I said, I’m a rookie.
As always “Thanks in advance!”

Current setting

I made sure the coil hook is engaged with the tang on the choke piston inner lever.

Attached Images  
Attached Files
File Type: mov
IMG_5349.MOV (17.39 MB, 30 views)
Old 03-09-2021, 05:58 PM
6D2148
Drifting

Received 235 Likes on 172 Posts

Can't see anything in video. Try with throttle partially open. At wide open throttle the choke plate is forced open against the spring.
Chip
The following users liked this post:
C2search (03-09-2021)
Old 03-09-2021, 06:19 PM
C2search
Instructor

Should I be able to manually move the circled linkage? I can’t get it to budge
Old 03-09-2021, 07:45 PM
DansYellow66
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 2,646 Likes on 1,975 Posts

Yes, you should be able to manually move the linkage. - it must be frozen. I have a divorced choke so I’m not that familiar with this type of self-contained choke, but it appears the spring center may not be keying into the choke link shaft when the cover is installed in place.
Old 03-09-2021, 07:54 PM
C2search
Instructor

Originally Posted by DansYellow66