Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What would you want in a repair shop?

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-2005, 12:20 PM
sparkys78
6th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What would you want in a repair shop?

I've been a GM tech for 23 years. I have been a big Corvette enthusiast and owner. I've been looking at opening my own shop here in Colorado and would like input from Vette owners on what they would expect from a shop. I would like to specialize in C1-C3 repairs. Somehow these years of cars seem to get overlooked by other Corvette shops. Thanks for the input!
Old 04-03-2005, 12:29 PM
74FLCONV
Melting Slicks

Here's my list:

1) CLEAN! If the shop is spotless, that tells me the owner is a meticulous mechanic.

2) No "dipsheet" flunkies. When I visit a shop, I look at the employees. The owner might be sharp as a tack, but I don't want some toasted burnout working on my car (like the stoner punk that didn't tighten the hose clamps on my fuel fill...(Astro van)).

3) No arguments! I hate it when I go a shop and know what I want and how I want it. Then, the owner or service writers starts a debate about why it should be done this way (read: his way). I told a boat mechanic that before starting my boat, they must pull the plugs and fog the cylinders. Boat (saltwater) had been sitting without running for 6+ months. Didn't want ring problems. Mechanic said it wasn't necessary and they started it without fogging...

D. Ocean
Miami, FLA
Old 04-03-2005, 12:54 PM
DJ Dep
Le Mans Master

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
St. Jude Donor '05-'07

Sparky: Not really a tech/performance topic and you'd probably get better responses posting this in the General area. Just a suggestion

Dep
Old 04-03-2005, 01:01 PM
jimcork1
Drifting

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Default Ability to discuss issues