Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Anyone ever build their own buffer?

Search this Thread

Old 04-26-2005, 05:04 PM
zymurgist
Drifting

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Anyone ever build their own buffer?

I'm going to be polishing some nasty old wheels sometime in the near future; one of the things that has been holding me back was the fact that I don't own a buffer. I buffed a Corvette wheel with a buffing wheel mounted in a drill a few years ago, but it sure seemed to take forever.

I was at Carlisle last Friday, and I found a really neat piece of hardware... it's an axle with two bearings and a pulley that is designed to be bolted to a surface, connected to a motor via a V-belt, and used to mount two buffing wheels. I remember when I was a kid, a friend's father had built a bench grinder using a similar setup, but I've never built anything like this before.

I have the axle assembly and a 2 horsepower motor (came out of my old air compressor). Has anyone here ever built a similar device? I'd appreciate any tips, tricks, etc. The guy who sold me the buffing supplies said that I will want to keep the RPM around 3000 (if I remember correctly)... this is the approximate design speed of the motor.
Old 04-26-2005, 07:46 PM
vetteboy1976kr
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am very interested in this also. If anyone has done this please chime in! TTT
Old 04-26-2005, 11:45 PM
bobs77vet
Race Director

Location: Arlington Va Current ride 04 vert, previous vettes: 69 vert, 77 resto mod
Received 255 Likes on 225 Posts

Originally Posted by vetteboy1976kr
I am very interested in this also. If anyone has done this please chime in! TTT
not much too look at but it was made of recycled free parts....the plastic bucket is screwed down to put the buffing compounds in...i clamp this to a table when i use it...the v belt guard is really prmitive but stops body parts from getting sucked in..
[IMG][/IMG]
[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]
Old 04-27-2005, 06:54 AM
zymurgist
Drifting