C3 General General C3 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Anybody use an aftermarket tire pressure monitoring system?

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-2007, 02:43 PM
Hadez
Drifting

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Anybody use an aftermarket tire pressure monitoring system?

I am in the process of upgrading my wheels and was determined to go with run flats until the person asked me how I was going to know if I had a flat tire or not. I have no personal experience with run flats and just assumed that you would be able to tell from the feel of the car or maybe a slightly deflated looking tire. I asked the C5 guys and they all strongly recommended a tire pressure monitoring system such as this one from TireRack. Have you guys heard of any good/bad experience with this aftermarket system? For less than $300 complete it sounds too good to be true as I know the sensors alone from my dealer for my truck cost over $100.

http://www.tirerack.com/accessories/hella/tc400.jsp
Old 05-17-2007, 03:14 PM
427-390
Drifting

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Huh? I thought the whole concept of "run flat" tire technology was to get you off the road safely. I am pretty certain that if one of those tires did puncture, you would know right away by the way the car handles when braking or turning. Heck, $300.00 buys alot of fix-a-flat or even a few rides on a flat bed trailer Not sure about you, but in in 30 + years of driving, I have never had a tire blow out on me while driving, although I have run over nails and what not and have had tires lose air after I parked. JMHO. I hope some of the tire experts can weigh in on this. Good luck on what you decide.
Old 05-17-2007, 03:57 PM
I'm Batman
Team Owner
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
St. Jude Donor '07

Originally Posted by 427-390