Sponsored by:

Engine question

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2008, 05:22 AM
EVIL_GRIM
Racer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Engine question

im new to building motors but i wanted to ask a few "dumb" questions so i can learn.

Can you re-use cylinder heads on a different motor later down the road if u decide to build another motor? *replacing springs, valves etc.*

Can you, or has anyone ever re-used full roller rockers on a second motor?

i wouldnt even think about using anything else on my next motor but i just wondered if the savings would bite me in the butt later down the road if i decided to re-use those parts.

BTW, does anyone recommend a decent set of full roller rockers? im build a 350 4 bolt main engine *mid-80's block*

I work at Motor Machine in Carmichael, CA but im just starting there so im pretty "dumb" to the whole racing brands and stuff

any tips/advise would be greatly appreciated
Old 01-27-2008, 08:47 AM
Durango_Boy
Team Owner

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

Yes you can reuse heads and roller rockers, but as all used parts go, there is wear involved and if the parts cannot be freshened, it's a risk to use them.
Old 01-27-2008, 10:09 AM
Curby
Melting Slicks
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 12 Likes on 3 Posts
Cruise-In VII Veteran
St. Jude Donor '06

Most aluminum roller rockers are a "wear item" that needs to be replaced on down the road. Unless you know exactly how old and how much use is on the aluminum ones, I would personally steer clear. Steel roller rockers will last much longer and I would not be afraid to re-use them on a second motor.

Heads can be swapped over and over. Just be careful the previous owner didn't over port them or shave them.

I bought a set of GTO heads for my 442, and found out they had been shaved after I had them installed, and the pushrods wouldn't work. I then checked the compression ( I know, I should have bench tested the heads first) and it was at 12.5 to 1. That was a few hundred dollars wasted!