C3 General General C3 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Small fiberglass repair question (pics).

Search this Thread

Old 02-06-2010, 10:31 PM
rajsid
Melting Slicks

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Small fiberglass repair question (pics).

What do you use to fix such small fiberglass cracks?
I am looking for a quick fix now. Is there anything that I can use to fill the crack and touch up?

A broken door spring did this to my door

Old 02-06-2010, 10:47 PM
temvette72
Racer

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

That looks familiar! That darn spring! I fixed mine by using a piece of stiff paper or cardboard ( a playing card worked for me) as a backing. Grind out the edges of the crack a little and lay several layers of fiberglass mat in the void. Leave it just a little beneath the finished level of the door skin and finish with good filler. I'm no pro, but it worked for me! As far as paint touch-up, that metallic paint is a problem. Go to www.paintworldinc.com and see if they can help. I just repainted almost an entire fender of my 72 with a rattle can (!) of their touch up paint and it turned out awesome! Good luck!

Temvette72

Last edited by temvette72; 02-06-2010 at 10:52 PM.
Old 02-06-2010, 10:59 PM
rajsid
Melting Slicks

Originally Posted by temvette72
That looks familiar! That darn spring! I fixed mine by using a piece of stiff paper or cardboard ( a playing card worked for me) as a backing. Grind out the edges of the crack a little and lay several layers of fiberglass mat in the void. Leave it just a little beneath the finished level of the door skin and finish with good filler. I'm no pro, but it worked for me! As far as paint touch-up, that metallic paint is a problem. Go to www.paintworldinc.com and see if they can help. I just repainted almost an entire fender of my 72 with a rattle can (!) of their touch up paint and it turned out awesome! Good luck!

Temvette72
I am a big fan of your rattle can work now