C3 General General C3 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

what type of sandblaster you guys using???

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-2010, 10:55 PM
MikeIz 82VETTE
Pro

Received 8 Likes on 1 Post

Default what type of sandblaster you guys using???

hello all,
i need to get some help as to what type and size sandblaster most weekend mechanics are using. i'd like to start doing some powder coating so i think i will use it alot. i also hear other types of blasters like "bead" and "glass" blasters. which would i need? take it easy on me i'm a newb.

also,
has anyone tried the Eastwood Powder Coating system?

thanks fellas
Old 03-22-2010, 10:58 PM
demonx
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

First take a look at your compressor.

I have a AU$1800.00 - 16.5cfm compressor with a 80lt tank - and it struggles to keep up with my two air compressors. I have both pressure feed and a suction feed blasters.

Also - DO NOT use these on fibreglass or it'll look like elephant skin. I have used them on the pot metal corvette grills etc and the other steel parts successfully.
Old 03-22-2010, 11:10 PM
johnt365
Drifting

Received 33 Likes on 21 Posts

It all depends on your budget...
Old 03-22-2010, 11:16 PM
weider1717
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have a 80gal 2 stage compressor and a "little blaster" blasting cabinet.

for the larger things I just have a cheapo 10 gallon wheel around deal got it from a northern tool type place.

the little blaster cabinet tho the name isn't fitting it's pretty big and is around 2500 new.
Old 03-23-2010, 12:17 AM
Mako72
Melting Slicks

Received 698 Likes on 318 Posts
2023 C7 of the Year Finalist - Unmodified
2018 C3 of Year Finalist