Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Tires to old?? How old is not safe?

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-2011, 11:15 PM
red70stingray
Pro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tires to old?? How old is not safe?

I have a chance to buy a set of 4 BF Goodrich radial T/A 's for my car.
They are new, never mounted but are 5 years old... (bought for a project that never was... Is a tire that old still safe? They seems soft and plyable with zero checking...
Whats really bothering me as well is.... if i buy new from the store, how do i know there not as old or older???
Old 01-05-2011, 11:20 PM
razman
Drifting

Received 12 Likes on 7 Posts

i'm no expert....but i have to say IMO these tires wouldn't scare me at all....never mounted, brand new, and really not THAT old. i would think that once a tire is mounted, pressured up, and exposed to road conditions, that is when the "ageing" begins. i assume that you are getting a pretty good deal on them, and i would go for it!
Old 01-05-2011, 11:25 PM
Ben Lurkin
Le Mans Master

Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
St. Jude Donor '09

Originally Posted by red70stingray
I have a chance to buy a set of 4 BF Goodrich radial T/A 's for my car.
They are new, never mounted but are 5 years old... (bought for a project that never was... Is a tire that old still safe? They seems soft and plyable with zero checking...
Whats really bothering me as well is.... if i buy new from the store, how do i know there not as old or older???
Yeah, they should be fine. All tires, however, dry rot due to oxidation from ozone; even if they are not used. Generally ten years is the accepted life of a tire.

Here's a good link for deciphering the manufacture date of a tire:

http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tirete....jsp?techid=11
Old 01-05-2011, 11:37 PM
SmokedTires
Le Mans Master

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Cruise-In III Veteran
St. Jude Donor '05

Any dry rot on the sidewalls and I would send them to the trash
Old 01-05-2011, 11:45 PM
talltxin
Instructor