Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1980 L-48. Need to change starter...

Search this Thread

Old 03-25-2011, 08:40 PM
Mikey1968
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default 1980 L-48. Need to change starter...

Well, first fuel fouled my plugs, then killed my battery tryign to get her fired up again. Recharged battery, then fried my starter. Love this old car ownership! Hahaha (at least I have a new hobby).

Any suggestions on the best way to replace the starter, before I tackle it tomorrow. I am a bit of a rookie....
Old 03-25-2011, 09:21 PM
GUSTO14
Le Mans Master

Received 1,962 Likes on 1,283 Posts

Really a pretty simple and straightforward job. Pay attention to the wires as you remove them from the solenoid. Use some masking tape and mark them if need be to get them back on correctly. Also if the front brace/bracket is still attached between the starter and block be sure to reinstall it. Some rebuilt starters are missing the correct (through) bolt that needs to be on the starter to attach this bracket, so if you do turn in your old starter, be prepared to switch the bolts before you let go of the old starter.

My personal preference regarding rebuilt starters is to rebuild the original one if at all possible. Most communities has at least one old automotive electronics shop that does this and many have been doing it for generations. At least you will know whose hands did the job and you will get your original starter back.

Good luck... GUSTO
Old 03-26-2011, 01:56 AM
TexasMadMan
Melting Slicks

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts

Just in case no one told you, disconnect the battery before removing any starter wires.
Old 03-26-2011, 08:16 AM
79L48
Pro

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

May I ask what exactly happened that you believe your starter "went"?
I referenced that you were being hard on your starter by reefing on it so hard, but I am curious as to what happened for you to think it failed.