Sponsored by:

1980 front end on a 1975?

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-2011, 09:55 AM
Rick Crunelle
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1980 front end on a 1975?

Can the front end (body) from a 1980 Corvette be installed on a 1975 Corvette pretty easily? Or is that a major undertaking.
If it can be done, how badly do you think it would hurt the value of the car? I know that question is subjective, but generally speaking what do you think?
Rick
Old 08-16-2011, 10:16 AM
Ganey
Race Director

Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts

Originally Posted by Rick Crunelle
... I know that question is subjective, but generally speaking what do you think?
Rick
Yes, but not worthwhile unless it's really what one likes/wants.

All the 75 needs on front is the Pace Car dam/spoiler.
Old 08-16-2011, 10:45 AM
Rick Crunelle
Advanced

wow, thanks for the quick responses.
I'm new to Covettes and most of my experience is 60's muscle cars, so I'm not that familiar with how Corvettes are put together. So, you can transplant an 80 front onto a 75, but it isn't really a simple bolt on...? If you pull the whole front off a 1980 model, you can't just bolt it right on. Is that correct?
Old 08-16-2011, 10:59 AM
Ganey
Race Director

Our fenders do not bolt on. You can get an aftermarket 80s style ft. bumper if that would do it. You need to say more.
Old 08-16-2011, 11:05 AM
Easy Mike
Team Owner
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 1,469 Likes on 1,248 Posts
Cruise-In II Veteran

...Can the front end (body) from a 1980 Corvette be installed on a 1975 Corvette pretty easily?...
No.

...Or is that a major undertaking...
Probably more than you want to get into. Purchase the 75 and 80 AIMs and compare the two factory installations.

...If it can be done, how badly do you think it would hurt the value of the car?...
Lessen the value considerably since any potential buyer will have to want your car and the changes you made to it.