Body dolly plans and advice.

Search this Thread

Old 11-05-2013, 09:28 PM
redcruz1120
Drifting

Received 205 Likes on 122 Posts
St. Jude Donor '09

Default Body dolly plans and advice.

I'm afraid the time has come for body removal . During the Vintage air installation two weeks ago, I found Rust in the #2 and #6 Rocker mounts.the ones by the kick panels. From what I understand there is no way around this but to remove the body to repair the rust issue. Where can I get the plans to build a body dolly?. I will be most likely be using a engine hoist. Mounts #1,4,5 and 8 look in good shape visually. I still haven't looked at #3 and 7 yet since I haven't removed the access plate to get a look at them. Any advice and tips will be greatly appreciated since I have never done this type of work on my Vette before..

Old 11-05-2013, 10:20 PM
PUNISHER VETTE
Race Director

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Doesn't look terrible to me just yet.

Start soaking them with penetrant now for a week or so squirting it on daily. If the bolts come out you're in luck. If they start spinning...not so lucky and you'll need the dolly.

I guess if you're worried with that amount of rust you can build a dolly...just be warned... my body off turned into an LSx swap and a entire paint and interior restore 3 years in the making now.

I've got a few different plans saved on my computer if you're interested just PM me.
I'm sure they're located somewhere on the net, but I don't know where.

I built one and it was a pretty crappy plan so made modifications that would have helped.
Old 11-05-2013, 11:25 PM
redcruz1120
Drifting

Received 205 Likes on 122 Posts
St. Jude Donor '09

Originally Posted by PUNISHER VETTE
Doesn't look terrible to me just yet.

Start soaking them with penetrant now for a week or so squirting it on daily. If the bolts come out you're in luck. If they start spinning...not so lucky and you'll need the dolly.