Sponsored by:

Header wrap

Search this Thread

Old 05-21-2016, 12:23 PM
timstrong20
Advanced

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Header wrap

I am debating wrapping my headers to reduce the heat in my engine compartment. I have a 77 coupe with with a 72 4 bolt motor with a cam and 1970 heads and air gap intake. It gets pretty hot in the engine compartment, (melted one plug wire) already. I think the headers are ceramic coated already. I have read about wrapping them with the titanium wrap and just want to get opinions. I am a rookie mechanic and open to suggestions. I think this should reduce the heat enough to help, plus I live the Georgia's hot summer. Thanks in advance...
Tim
Old 05-21-2016, 03:45 PM
BKbroiler
Le Mans Master

Received 706 Likes on 401 Posts

Engine compartment heat didn't melt your plug wire. It had to be touching a header tube.
Old 05-22-2016, 07:07 AM
fishslayer143
Drifting

Received 156 Likes on 143 Posts

just Wrap the plug wire end that melted instead,with High Temp tape . it was touching or very close to touching the tube. .. wrapping headers causes rust and its nearly impossible to do a nice job in the car
Old 05-22-2016, 09:50 AM
diehrd
Safety Car

Received 293 Likes on 189 Posts

The wraps do work , but they may also make it very hard to get spark plugs and plug wires to fit.

If this is an issue for you you can try http://www.ebay.com/itm/like/161632830787?lpid=82&chn=ps&ul_noapp=true
These go on the spark plug end of the wire and prevent headers from melting the wires ..
Old 05-22-2016, 12:07 PM
76C3forme
Racer

Received 77 Likes on 69 Posts

Originally Posted by diehrd
The wraps do work , but they may also make it very hard to get spark plugs and plug wires to fit.

If this is an issue for you you can try Black 8pcs 1200 Spark Plug Wire Boots Heat Shield Protector Cover Sleeve | eBay

These go on the spark plug end of the wire and prevent headers from melting the wires ..