Sponsored by:

Tail lights

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2016, 01:45 PM
golfboy
Instructor

Received 19 Likes on 18 Posts
Default Tail lights

I have a 1978 Pace Car. I would like to replace the rear inner tail light back up lenses with two outer tail light lenses to match the present outer tail light lenses on the car, giving me four tail lights. How difficult is this to do? I realize I will have to replace the light bulbs with 1157's and change the bulb sockets out. Is it then just a matter of splicing in the three wires to the three wires going to the outer tail lights? I'm not an electrical engineer so any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
Old 10-07-2016, 02:31 PM
Easy Mike
Team Owner
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 1,468 Likes on 1,247 Posts
Cruise-In II Veteran

Originally Posted by golfboy
...I realize I will have to replace the light bulbs with 1157's and change the bulb sockets out. Is it then just a matter of splicing in the three wires to the three wires going to the outer tail lights?...
Pretty much. The bubble tail light conversion kits do the same thing. My advice would be not to cut your existing back up light pig tails. Tape them to the existing harness out of the way. This gives you the option of returning to stock in the future.

Last edited by Easy Mike; 10-07-2016 at 03:09 PM.
The following users liked this post:
golfboy (10-07-2016)
Old 10-07-2016, 02:43 PM
rgwoehr
Burning Brakes

Received 604 Likes on 295 Posts

I had to cut a bigger hole in the fiberglass tail light reinforcement so the back of the lenses could go through it, then I spliced in the new sockets and zip tied the reverse lights to something so they didn't hang down.
Old 10-07-2016, 03:31 PM
golfboy
Instructor

Originally Posted by rgwoehr
I had to cut a bigger hole in the fiberglass tail light reinforcement so the back of the lenses could go through it, then I spliced in the new sockets and zip tied the reverse lights to something so they didn't hang down.