Search this Thread

Old 06-12-2017, 12:19 PM
~Stingray
Le Mans Master

Received 398 Likes on 264 Posts
St. Jude Donor '17, '19

Default Requesting some help....

Hey Guys,

I will try to keep this short....I am looking for someone (or people) who would be willing to help me work on my car (and theirs if needs be). I am not an expert, but I have learned a lot over the years. However, I prefer someone who knows mechanics to be there for some of the bigger projects that need to be done. I really want to do this right the first time. I don't have a lot of money so I can't afford to learn the hard way nor do I want to be one of those people whose car catches fire because I hooked something up incorrectly. I know its still possible with experts, but two heads are better than one. And I am not saying you need to be a certified mechanic. If you feel you are knowledgeable about a project and would tackle it yourself, then that is all I am looking for.

I am eager to learn and willing to help too. Basically looking for a mentor(s). I have a decent set of tools and garage to work in - however, I could bring the car to you.

I have tried looking into taking classes, but they are all offered as full day classes that last several
months. I can't really take off work for that long nor do I have the funds for classes like that. And the last few car clubs I was in, no one was really willing to help. They would talk with you about your car all day, but when it came to getting their hands dirty, they would blow you off.

This is more than just about learning how to fix/restore a car, its about camaraderie and meeting new people too; it's about having some fun. I also don't mind if more than one person wants to come. If someone else wants to learn as well and one guy is willing to teach, AWESOME! And once I learn, I have no problem sharing it with others. I love to teach! I hope out of this entire community, someone would enjoy this as much as I would.