Sponsored by:

Advice Bumper Repair

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2017, 07:40 PM
Martin Reimer
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Advice Bumper Repair

Hi all, im new to the forums and to car repair. I recently bought a 76 Stingray and im looking to get some advice on body damage repair. Should I use bondo glass or some other material to patch the holes? Can somebody walk me thru the steps or point me to a good online resource on how to go about fixing this? If I decided to pass this onto a shop about how much would it cost to repair and do a paint touch up? TIA

front drivers side fender

front bumper
Old 06-25-2017, 11:53 PM
henrikse
Pro

Received 115 Likes on 98 Posts

I would use short strand fiberglass. Feather the edges down a bit . After sanding fiberglass down you can use 2 part glaze and block sand it down to 400 grit.
I'm no expert but how I would tackle
Old 06-26-2017, 01:16 AM
Z06LMB
Melting Slicks

Received 182 Likes on 133 Posts

By the looks of how thick the missing materials are this can't be the original paint. Perhaps even a skim coat for a build up prior to block sanding?
One cheap, quick fix would be power sanding a larger perimeter around the chipped areas taking repair area back to solid bonded materials (you can see broken bond of remaining materials around missing chips). Very carefully glass in about 90% of the voids, remainder with a light skim coat of finishing filler, prime and paint.
Of course there are infinite ways to tackle this repair. How is the rest of the surrounding painted areas? Is this paint an original color?
Old 06-26-2017, 06:54 AM
Rotonda
Burning Brakes

Received 85 Likes on 78 Posts

Originally Posted by Martin Reimer