1975 Build Thread

Search this Thread

Old 10-16-2017, 11:13 AM
slapjack9
Instructor

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default 1975 Build Thread

Hello All!

I made a post a week ago or so about needing some advice on replacing the fiberglass on my '75. I had a lot of responses about doing the work myself, but I decided to go with a body shop owned by a family friend. Anyway, I figured I might as well go ahead and start a build thread for my car both for my reference in the future and for others as well.

Some background on me:
I'm a college student, and I live about an hour and a half from home, but I drive home on the weekends to work. I bought the car because I wanted to restore a car with my Dad while we're both young! That being said I don't have much time to work on my car, but anytime I get in the garage is valuable to me and I'll be sure to document it!

Some background on the car:
I bought the '75 about a year ago now, I feel that I got a good deal on it, and my Dad agrees. From the door jams back, the car is perfect (aside from an incorrect rear bumper). She drives like a dream, my Dad, who worked in his Dad's Chevy dealership as a kid, says it drives like it's new. The frame is in perfect shape, no rust, no corrosion. Everything we were able to see on the birdcage is in great shape as well. She has a salvage title, which typically would turn me away from the car, but this car is, and always will be priceless to me, so I'm also not worried about the "true value" of the car. The front clip and the front bumper need to be replaced badly, and I would like to put the correct rear bumper on it. The hood has some damage, but the fiberglass guy says he can fix it no problem. As I said I'm away at school during the week but I'll get some pictures of it this weekend and upload them!

So far, my work on the car includes:
-New power steering control valve
-New master cylinder
-New brake booster
-New right rear caliper
-New rear rotors
-New brake pads all around