New Appreciation for Quality Tools

Search this Thread

Old 10-15-2018, 09:56 AM
Drifter36
Instructor

Received 39 Likes on 34 Posts
Default New Appreciation for Quality Tools

B
Ok, so I admit I’m an amateur mechanic. I’m retired so I have the time to work on my cars. For 90% of the work I do, I don’t need top end tools. My Craftsman or Husky wrenches are just fine. But there are times when top end tools are needed. Here’s one.
I have not been able to adjust the timing on my 82CE because the distributor hold down clamp bolt was rusted and would not budge. I tried offset wrenches and adjustable but nothing worked. PB Blaster was used several times, with no success. So I bought a cheap distributor wrench. On the first use it bent like a pretzel. So that was a waste of $20. Did a search of the Snap On site and found one that looked good. Ten minutes after it arrived, the bolt was loose. I paid $77 for the wrench and it was a good investment. It needed a cheater bar to budge the bolt, but the tool held up.
So I guess my point is also that you get what you pay for.
Just thought I’d share my experience.
Old 10-15-2018, 10:08 AM
Rodnok1
Melting Slicks

Received 104 Likes on 92 Posts

Usually someone finds out el cheapo tools aren't worth it when they pinch you hand against something or round the nut off in the most inaccessible place...
The following users liked this post:
Drifter36 (10-15-2018)
Old 10-15-2018, 10:52 AM
69L46vert
Pro

Received 25 Likes on 23 Posts

I've had that same snap on distributor wrench since I was a teenager (pushing 60). And although it doesn't get used a lot, it's an absolute pleasure to pull it out and use it for it's intended purpose.
Drifter36 (10-15-2018)
Old 10-15-2018, 11:45 AM
Tonio
Drifting

Received 281 Likes on 226 Posts